In just a snap we are all cartoons

December 19, 2010 § Leave a comment

Almost everyone on Facebook is a cartoon now.

Cedric, Judy Abott, Peter Pan, Cinderella, Heidi are just some of the cartoons one can see on the profile photos used on Facebook.

If you’re wondering what this whole thing is about, relax. Your friends are still humans. People—and I mean even the adult ones, not just kids—changed their profile picture because of this spreading rule: “Change your facebook profile picture to a cartoon from your childhood
and invite your friends to do the same. Until Monday, there should be no
human faces on facebook, but a stash of memories. This is for
eliminating violence against children.”

This reminded me of the cancer awareness on Facebook last January. Many girls posted the colors of their bra then. And now, violence against children? What’s next? Probably something against poverty?

This reminded me too of the anonymous text-addicts who don’t have anything better to do than spread chain messages, scaring people about a lot of things. “If you don’t send this message, a ghost will sleep with you tonight”. “Send this message to 15 people. Jesus died for you. Should you just ignore this message?”

While it’s good to reminisce the TV shows I watched when I was a kid and to discover that my grown-up friends share the same taste on cartoon characters, I didn’t buy this advocacy. I didn’t change my profile picture into my favorite cartoon.

Futile

Sure, it’s good to be aware of the violence against children. But aren’t we already aware of it? Simply put, this advocacy doesn’t change anything. It doesn’t even help the abused children. It doesn’t even stop the violence. It is just like some pages on Facebook that promise you they will feed hungry children if you “Like” their page.

Violence in the Philippines

It is interesting to note that lots of Filipinos joined this activity without realizing that they themselves were abused too at least once in their lives.

I can’t blame them. We are in a country where spanking A.K.A. “disciplining” the children is tolerated, encouraged even by people who believe that spanking helps in creating a more responsible child. We are in a country where spanking children is normal. What we consider “violence” here is when the child spanked is already bleeding and about to die. But isn’t a wrong deed still wrong regardless if it’s done in small or large scale? Do what you call “disciplining” to foreign children and you’ll surely end up in jail.

Live and let live

Don’t get me wrong. I may not have joined this Facebook activity, but I didn’t stop people from joining it either. In fact, I even clicked the like button numerous times because of the lovely cartoon photos some of my friends used. Gone are the days when your “cool” friends ridicule you for having a profile photo of Mr.Bean.

Tagged: ,

Comments are closed.

What’s this?

You are currently reading In just a snap we are all cartoons at Jenn Besonia's Writing Portfolio.

meta